Hi, How Can We Help You?
August 14, 2022

TEER to replace NOC Code System | What will change in NOC System?

TEER to replace NOC Code System | What will change in NOC System?: It has been already announced by Canadian immigration that the current NOC system will be replaced by TEER. And according to the latest updates, the new TEER system in Canada will start on November 16, 2022. NOC stands for National Occupation Classification (NOC). This system categorizes various job duties. Now, changes have been made to this system that will be discussed further in the post. This post will provide you with complete information about the new system and how it can affect people in Canada.

How TEER to replace NOC Code System?

TEER to replace NOC, NOC system, TEER System, Permanent Resident, canada pr

The NOC codes are used to group different levels of occupations. These are timely updated and the last time it was in the year 2016. The 2016 NOC codes had 5 levels whereas the 2021 updated codes have six levels. The NOC codes have been recently modernized at the end of the year 2021 and will be implemented in November 2022. However, this change could be either advantageous or disadvantageous for immigrants as some jobs became eligible for express entry while some became ineligible.

What is NOC 2016?

It is the list of various jobs classified into various levels by the government of Canada. So, the immigrants who wish to apply for express entry should fall under this category.

Five categories under National Occupation Classification (NOC):

Skill Type 0

Following are the kind of jobs that fall under this:

  • Electrical Engineers
  • Construction Manager
  • Mechanical Engineers
  • HR Managers
  • Marketing Managers
  • IT & Software Managers

Skill Level A

Professions that fall under this category are:

  • Doctors
  • Engineers
  • Scientists
  • Professors

Skill Level B

The following skilled people fall under this:

  • Electricians
  • Mechanics
  • Carpenters
  • Plumbers

Skill Level C

  • Restaurant Services
  • Truck Drivers
  • Construction Workers

Skill Level D

Labor jobs that require on-the-job training fall under this:

  • Cleaning Staff
  • Oil Field Workers
  • Fruit Pickers

What is TEER?

TEER stands for Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities. Moreover, it may be noted that the 2016 NOC codes had 5 levels while the updated TEER system in Canada has six categories. The following are the categories in TEER:


This level includes management occupations and works the same as NOC 0.


This will cover a university degree and is similar to NOC A.


Includes jobs that require post-secondary education of two years or occupations with safety responsibilities.


Includes jobs with post-secondary education or apprenticeship training of less than two years.


These include jobs that require a secondary school certificate or on-the-job training,


This skill level does not require any educational qualification. Include jobs that require work demonstration.

List of 16 jobs eligible for Express Entry

Canadian Citizenship

As a result of the TEER system, some occupations got upgraded and became eligible for express entry. So, candidates with these skills are going to be benefited. The following is the list of jobs that became eligible:

  • Aircraft assemblers
  • Heavy equipment operators
  • bus drivers, subway operators, and other transit operators
  • Transport truck drivers
  • Repairers and Servicers
  • Pest controllers and fumigators
  • Residential and commercial installers and servicers
  • Estheticians, electrologists, and related occupations
  • By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers
  • Correctional service officers
  • Sheriffs and bailiffs
  • Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants
  • Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants
  • Nurse aids and patient service associates
  • Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants
  • Payroll administrators

On the other hand, there are three such occupations that became ineligible for express entry. The following are the three occupations:

  • tailors, dressmakers, furriers, and milliners
  • program leaders and instructors in recreation, sport, and fitness
  • other performers

To check your eligibility for express entry, find out your NOC code. So, to find your NOC CLICK HERE.

VLINK Immigration delivers you the best immigration lawyers in Edmonton and Canada.

Schedule an appointment with us HERE if you need a licensed ICCRC Immigration Consultant to represent your application and streamline your path to Canada

We hope that you found this article about TEER to replace NOC Code System | What will change in NOC System? informational. If in case you have questions/queries related to any immigration program to Canada, please schedule an appointment with us. Our best immigration lawyers from VLink Immigration Canada will validate the profile as per the Immigration Program which is best suitable for you.

One Reply to “TEER to replace NOC Code System | What will change in NOC System?”

  1. NOC To TEER System | 16 Occupations Eligible For Express Entry says: November 21, 2022 at 7:04 pm

    […] announced by IRCC, there are some changes in the NOC system in Canada. There is a shift from NOC to the TEER system. And this change came into effect on November 16, 2022. So, from now all express entry files will […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>