Hi, How Can We Help You?
November 21, 2022

NOC To TEER System Updates |16 Occupations Eligible For Canadian Express Entry

NOC To TEER System updates | 16 Occupations Eligible For Express Entry: As previously announced by IRCC, there are some changes in the NOC system in Canada. There is a shift from NOC to the TEER system. And this change came into effect on November 16, 2022. So, from now all express entry files will be processed considering the new NOC 2021.

In addition, 16 occupations are now eligible for express entry under the TEER system. However, 3 occupations are no longer eligible for express entry. In this post, there will be a list of occupations that became eligible and ineligible. But before that, it is important to know what the NOC system in Canada is.

NOC to TEER System  updates

NOC stands for National Occupational Classification. It is a system where different occupations are assigned different codes based on the type of work and job duties. And it plays a very crucial in immigration. So, it is very important to choose the NOC code that best matches your job title while applying for any immigration program. If you don’t do so, perhaps it will have a negative impact on your application.

NOC System To TEER System

Moreover, till November 16, 2022, Canada has been using NOC 2016 system. In this system, different skilled occupations were divided into five levels. These are Skill Type 0, Skill Level A, B, C, and D. And the jobs that fall under skilled type 0 and skilled level A or B are considered high-skilled work. On the other hand, occupations under skilled level C or B are considered low-skilled work.

In the express entry, only people with occupations falling under skilled type 0 and skilled level A or B are eligible to apply for permanent residency.

NOC Replaced By TEER System for Express Entry 2023

NOC 2016 NOC 2021
Skilled Type 0    TEER 0
Skilled Level A TEER 1
Skilled Level B   TEER 2
Skilled Level B   TEER 3
Skilled Level C TEER 4
Skilled Level D TEER 5

In TEER System Canada, Skilled Level B of NOC 2016 is split into two categories TEER 2 and TEER 3. As a result, 16 new occupations became eligible for express entry. While 3 occupations that were eligible previously are now ineligible for express entry. Therefore, this shift from the NOC system to the TEER system is advantageous for some while disadvantageous for some people.

NOC to TEER System updates


What does NOC Code Indicate?

As mentioned earlier, it is important to select NOC code that matches your occupation. Hence, you can find whether a NOC code is suitable for your job title or not with the help of the following steps.

  • The first digit represents the broad occupational category
  • The second digit represents the TEER category
  • The first two digits together represent the major group
  • The first three digits represent the sub-major group
  • The first four digits represent the minor group
  • The full five digits represent the unit group or the occupation itself

VLINK Immigration delivers the best immigration lawyers in Edmonton and Canada.

Schedule an appointment with us HERE if you need a licensed ICCRC Immigration Consultant to represent your application and streamline your path to Canada

We hope that you found this article about NOC To TEER System | 16 Occupations Eligible For Express Entry informational. If in case you have questions/queries related to any immigration program to Canada, please schedule an appointment with us. Our best immigration lawyers from VLink Immigration Canada will validate the profile as per the Immigration Program which is best suitable for you.

3 Replies to “NOC To TEER System Updates |16 Occupations Eligible For Canadian Express Entry”

  1. Top 5 Nursing Schools In Alberta For International Students says: November 26, 2022 at 5:13 pm

    […] NOC To TEER System Updates | 16 Occupations Eligible For Canadian Express Entry […]

  2. NOC 2021 | Truck Drivers Become Eligible For Express Entry says: November 29, 2022 at 6:57 pm

    […] On the other hand, some became ineligible. The updated NOC 2021 came into effect in November. The NOC 2021 is now called a TEER system and under this system, 16 new occupations are now eligible for express […]

  3. Step-by-Step Guide to Renew Work Permit says: April 2, 2023 at 8:11 am

    […] NOC To TEER System Updates | 16 Occupations Eligible For Canadian Express Entry […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>